Mandate Area

The mandate area of the institute is the North-Western Himalayan region of India, covering two states, viz., Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand and two union territories, viz., Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh, spanning a geographical area of 3,31,394 sq km with 1,34,650 sq km reporting area for land utilization statistics and 20,923 sq km net sown area, of which 7237 sq km is net irrigated area.  Wheat, paddy, maize and finger millet are the major crops of the region.